Hampton Coliseum/Hampton Arts Commission

Formed in 2012, this City department manages the day-to-day operation of Hampton Coliseum and Hampton Arts (The American Theatre and The Charles H. Taylor Arts Center).


Terri Vander Vennet, Interim Director

Kevin Spence, Assistant Director (Operations and Events)

Richard Parison, Artistic Director

James Warwick Jones, Gallery Manager

Bessie Crotts, Box Office Manager

Kiara Warren, Marketing Manager

Sandra Sanders, Changeover and Housekeeping Manager

Matthew Shufflebarger, Food and Beverage Manager

Hampton Commission on the Arts

Established in December 1987, this Hampton City Council appointed 13-member citizens board acts in an advisory capacity to the Council to promote further development and awareness of artistic and cultural programs in the City and to provide a coordinated method of City support of cultural organizations and programs. This body works closely with the City department known as Hampton Coliseum/Hampton Arts Commission, which manages the day-to-day operation of Hampton Coliseum, The American Theatre and The Charles H. Taylor Arts Center.


Nancy Eason, Chair Gaylene Kanoyton
Patrice Billingsley Jackie Merritt
Lynda Burke Buena Reese
The Hon. Linda Curtis Deborah Reese
James Dees Gail Rehmert
Joshua Head Olga Ruffin
The Hon. Billy Hobbs  

Hampton Arts Foundation

The Hampton Arts Foundation is a 501 (c) (3) organization created in 1994 as the non-profit arm to support Hampton Arts. The Foundation has completed two successful capital campaigns in the past ten years to renovate, rebuild and expand the Theatre and upgrade the galleries.

Board Members

Duncan Garnett, President

Nancy Eason

Donna Palmer, Vice President

Steven Hussell

Kenneth M. Krakaur, Treasurer

Bud Longo

Nancy Adams

Roxanne Lopez-Brown

Nancy Lawson Allen

The Hon. John Miller

Ann Marie Batten

Tisha Rose

Margaret "Peggy" Blake

Debbie Scott

Sheryl Crawley

The Hon. Joseph H. Spencer, II 

Cindy Cutler

Jim Thompson

Letia Drewry




The Charles H. Taylor Arts Center Board of Trustees

In 1987, the Charles H. Taylor Memorial Library closed when the City of Hampton built the expanded Hampton Public Library right next door. After careful renovation and adaptation and adhering to the guidelines set forth in Mrs. Armstrong’s bequest, the historic building re-opened in January 1989 as The Charles H. Taylor Arts Center. The estate of Mrs. Armstrong owns the building and leases it to the City of Hampton which manages the day-to-day operations through the department of Hampton Coliseum/Hampton Arts Commission.


Debbie Scott, President The Honorable Christopher W. Hutton
Richard M. Bagley, Jr.  
Pearl Braxton  
The Honorable Douglas E. Miller  
Dr. Linda Schifflette